Sandra Damijan

WBAF Senator Slovenia, ACFE Slovenia President,
Senior Advisor for Europe Sigma Ratings, Inc.,
Licensed FIDIC Expert, Certified Fraud Examiner

Sandra is a researcher and lecturer at the School of Economics and Business at the University of Ljubljana. She is also a partner and head of Grant Thornton Advisory and Financial Forensic Services in SEE. Sandra is a Senator for Slovenia at the World Business Angels Investors Forum (WBIF), Board Member of the Global Startup Committee and leads Smart Financing. She is also a Senior Advisory Board Member at Sigma Ratings for Europe (Fitch Group), President of the Slovenian Chapter of the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners and founder of the Intercollegiate European Ethics Bowl.
During her work at the Slovenian Commission for the Prevention of Corruption, she was responsible for compliance development and led and managed investigation teams for corruption offences in the public and private sectors. She focused on the financial, infrastructure, energy, healthcare, and telecommunications sectors. She is a former member of the Slovenian delegation to the Council of Europe Group of States against Corruption (GRECO), head of the Slovenian delegation to UNODC for legal and technical assistance in the implementation of the United Nations Convention against Corruption (UNCAC) in other countries, and former vice president of the European Healthcare Fraud and Corruption Network (EHFCN), Brussels.
Sandra’s research and teaching areas are financial management, accounting, corporate governance, international trade, investment and sustainability. She is also a member of the Academic Programme Committee on Financial Investments at the University of Belgrade. Her expertise is frequently used by the U.S. Department of Justice (Serbia) and international financial institutions in investigating financial transactions and training officials. She has extensive consulting experience from various CEE and SEE countries. Her work experience spans over 20 countries, including Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Georgia, Bosnia, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania, Moldova, Albania, Uzbekistan, Kosovo, Slovenia, Austria, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, Bulgaria, Hungary, Tajikistan, and Turkey.